Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Aug. 21, 2003 - 2:37 p.m.

I love the garbage eating goat. I have its picture hanging on my cubby wall. I was so excited when I finally got to meet him in June. Someday I'm going to write a poem about him...

Yes, I'm a little crazy today. I don't know why though. Its not a full moon. I'm dead tired. This is one of those times where I wish I was one of those crazy homeless people you run into on the street. Except for the homeless part. I want to walk down the street talking to myself, maybe singing. Or even doing a little dance.

I think its because I've been sitting home the last couple of nights cutting out little pictures to make some tile bracelets and now I'm a little stir crazy.

I have even been singing in the shower...

Granted I usually break out in song whereever I am, but through out my life I've gradually gotten quieter. In college I would dance around the halls singing in my fake opera voice using a sock puppet I called Placido Flamingo.

(I wonder if I could still sing in my fake opera voice now that I know how to sing properly)

Now, I sing in the shower. Its sad when you realize that you've grown up.

I'm gonna go home and read my harry potter and snuggle with my moose and sock orangutang stuffed animals.

and eat oreos. (I never got to do that as a child)

Actually I'll probably go see the last Ft. Reno show and then drink Margaritas afterwards.

I'm reading a biography of Alfred Hitchcock and am on the part of his childhood in a strict Catholic school in England. They got to read Shakespeare and Tenneyson, and the Divine Comedy when they were only 11. And all I can think of is how dumb we treat our children in this day and age. We give them things like Barney, and movies like Treasure Planet. But at the same time we force them to act like adults by forcing them into structured activities at an early age. Not to mention shipping them off to preschool at 3. When I think of having a child and raising a child the more I think homeschooling is the best option.

I could be pissed because last week I went to my sister's baby shower and everyone else there had kids. Which is good if your having kids, but not good if that's all they want to talk about. I tried to make light of it by joining in the topics by saying "Well, my imaginary son Augustine..." which they laughed at but didn't change the topic. Seriously, if all you're gonna do is complain about having to take your child, here there and everywhere to get him in classes and sports, don't! Don't sign your child up for those things in the first place! Chances are your child will be happy to just play at home with their friends. Also, if having one child is horrible and you can't think of anything good to say about the whole experience why o why the hell do you have another? And why o why do you think people want to sit there trying to eat and listen to you describe in detail the horrors of childbirth and childrearing? Granted I've been through this many times coming from a big family, so I shouldn't be fazed when these things are discussed, and really I'm not fazed, gory details fasinate me, but I'm just sick of the complaining. Granted I complain, I'm not saying that I don't, but that's not all I talk about. And trust me I feel the same way when I get together with a bunch of friends and all they do is complain about work...

GET A HOBBY!!!!!!!!!!

venting...venting Dr. Bob.

Oh well.

Quote of the day:

If A is success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut.

Albert Einstein, Observer, Jan. 15, 1950

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!