Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Apr. 14, 2004 - 5:28 p.m.

Virgo: (Aug. 23�Sept. 22)

While it's true that performing crazy antics in a mascot suit is pass�, it served you well for many years.

Have you ever stood in an elevator and willed it to stop? Not to break or anything, just to get stuck in between floors for a little while?

I just want to sit and stare off into space. It seems all my mind is capable of today. I was late to work this morning. Really late. I got in around 10:30. I wasn�t sleepy. I actually got up earlier than normal. But I sat down on the couch to put my shoes on and I just couldn�t make myself get up again. I just wanted to lay back and stare at the ceiling. All day. Maybe I am just tired�

Anyways, saw Hellboy last night. And I recommend it. It is drenched with humor and humanity with just a splash of the hokey. As comic book movies go, I�ll rank it up there with Spiderman, my favorite. I wish they could all be that good.

Sigh

My reviews for comic movies so far:

Superman � I don�t really remember this one, but nostalgia leads me to believe that I liked it.

Batman � The first one. The best one. Michael Keaton had the mix of deep sorrow and hero that I fell in love with in the comic book, and Jack Nicholson as the joker scared the sh@t outta me. I loved the little gadgets, and the lighting of that movie matched the darkness of comic book. But I love Tim Burton.

The X-Men � This movie was saved by the actors. It could�ve been extremely hokey, but everyone played their parts so well, you forgot you were watching actors. Same review for X-2. I found myself equally drawn to and scarred sh@tless by Ian McKellan. And they couldn�t have gotten a better Wolverine.

Spiderman � I loved this movie. I can�t wait for the next one. That�s all I can say.

The Hulk � I never had higher expectations for a movie than this one. Ang Lee alone assured me that I would love this movie. It did have great humanity in it, but I was hard to love the CGI Hulk. All in all in turned into a decent Friday night movie (as my brother-in-law Paul would say � �After a hard week at work I don�t want to watch a movie I have to think about!�).

Daredevil � Suffice it to say I was really surprised when they decided to make this movie. I didn�t really like the comic, and I didn�t really like the movie. Could it have been better with a different actor? Who knows. Though I loved Collin Farrell�s performance (and it could just be my lust talking, but hey-) as Bulls Eye, he was soo over the top I laughed every time he showed up. Even the Catholic undercurrents couldn�t save that movie.

League of Extraordinary Gentleman � It drew me in. I never read this comic, but if it was anything like �The Watchmen� I feel that they butchered it. Again it turned out to be a decent Friday night movie, but I hated what they did to Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Though the characters were well written and fairly well acted out. I hear rumors that they are going to make a movie based on The Watchmen and I pray that no one connected with League will be working on it.

American Splendor � Again I didn�t read this comic before I saw the movie, but it has to be the epitome of comic movies. Though it helped to be a more biographical comic than a superhero comic, so it really is in another genre. Another movie that was horribly overlooked by the damn Oscars.

There you have it!

(yesterday's translation - Excuse me. I have to go see a man about a dog.)

Nemo me impune laccessit.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!