Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Apr. 21, 2004 - 4:58 p.m.

Sorry about taking so long to update.

I know you all are waiting with bated breath, wondering what I will write next.

Ok, so I�m delusional and I�m probably the only one waiting and since I�m writing this thing why am I wondering what I�m going to write?

But if you are reading this you already know I�m crazy.

You know what I�ve been thinking of lately? The term �Bloody Hell� or just plain �Bloody�. What does it mean? Where does it come from? I know those British use it as a bad word (or used to) and it means more than just �Damn� though that�s how I use it. Its gotta be something really bad because my brother, Tommy, used to say it a lot before he went to England, but stopped saying it afterwards. He told me not to say it, but he wouldn�t tell me what it meant. Which of course made me want to say it more. But I was good and I didn�t say it. But I was watching the Harry Potter movies and I noticed that Ron says it a lot. I�m confused. I mean this is Harry Potter. As wholesome as the day is long, (unless of course you believe that Harry Potter is evil and will lead you down the cursed path to devil worshipping, which I must say is bullshit. If I�m ever going to be lead down that path it will be by the Catholics and Christians telling me all the stuff that devil worshippers do and my curiosity will get the best of me. And the way they talk about it, they make it sound really cool. I mean, c�mon, who doesn�t think that it�d be cool to control the elements with a word? Of course I never would go down that path, but if they keep talking about it I may just start asking them how they know for sure that its devil worshipping unless they were practicing the dark arts themselves? {Sorry, Mom & Dad if you are reading this, but Harry Potter is NOT the devil. Neither is Pokeman.}). So I don�t think they would just throw swear words around. Though Ron might not say that in the British version and it might be in the American version just to give it a little British flavoring. So stupid.

Rant rant rant rant

Anyways if anyone is actually reading this and knows what the British term �bloody� means will they please contact me and tell me? Thanks!

I came into work today and low and behold there was a rose at my desk! A yellow rose of Texas. I found out that the HR department gave them to all the assistants in light of Secretary Appreciation Week/day. Now, if only they had given me a raise�.

The weekend was fun. Had a good time with the fam. Took them to the heaven on earth that is Cold Stone Creamery. Visited my Pop and Uncle Greg. And Auntie Angela, who really isn�t our aunt but is a really sweet woman who we got to know when she lived in the same place as my Nana. Then fell asleep during Brother Bear. (I�m sorry, but Disney shouldn�t stop using hand-drawn animation. The only reason why they are loosing money on them is because they are horrible stories. I�m sure Brother Bear would�ve sucked even if they used the latest technology.) Then Sunday Brian, Missy, Owen, Allie and I went down to the mall to see the new WWII Memorial which actually wasn�t open yet, but you could see it through the fence. And ordered Pizza.

Monday went to work. Watched Harry Potter and History of the World Part 1. Mel Brooks is funny, but it�s really hard to sit through the whole movie. Though I love the Inquisition part. Ate some more aforementioned pizza. Wrote more quotes in my Official Series of Unfortunate Events Blank Book. Stared at my laundry. Sat outside to eat my lunch. Under a cherry tree.

Tuesday went to work. Sat under same cherry tree and ate same pizza for lunch as mentioned above. Ate a donut thanks to a really boring staff meeting. Went out for drinky with Jeff to Marty�s.

*mini review of Marty�s � I love this place. It�s new, but the bartenders are sooo friendly you feel like you�ve been going there for years. I feel as comfortable there as in the beloved Tune Inn. Except there is no smoking in Marty�s so I can go drinking and not have to cough up a lung! Always a plus in my book. Last night Jeff and I were about to go when the bartender asked us if we wanted another beer, and we were declining when he said �Even if it�s a round on the house?� So of course we stayed.

Well, spent all day writing this (in-between work � really!!!) so I think I better get going.

(Last Friday�s translation � No one dances sober, unless they are completely insane. {I guess that means I�m insane}).

Quid me nutrit me destruit

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!