Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May. 19, 2004 - 3:35 p.m.

I love days like this. Not only are there copious amounts of dark chocolate covered pretzels (!!!), one of the meetings had massive leftovers from their luncheon. Fried chicken, roasted chicken, sour dough rolls, macaroni & cheese, greens, cinnamon apples, huge brownies, and sweet cookies. (I passed up the cookies and brownies in lieu of the chocolate covered pretzels which just happens to be one of my favorite treats. I think it has something to do with the combination of salt and sweet.

I feel like that rat in Charlotte�s Web. Pretty soon I�ll be singing. And I was having a horrible day too. It�s still pretty bad, but free food always brightens my mood. Now I don�t have to worry about what to make for dinner. Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow there may not be any meetings.

Scenario if I had kids:

�Mum, what�s for dinner?�

�Well, lets see. Looks like there might be leftover chicken sandwiches at the Higher Ed meeting. If I plan it right I can be the first one there so I can get sandwiches for everyone. If not, well, I�m sure I can dig up some potatoes.�

�Potatoes again!�

�Don�t complain! There were years your ancestors would�ve died for a nice potato. In fact they did��

Kid rolls eyes as mother launches into her dissertation on the potato famine.

Everybody is gone to a meeting with OPEIU, which really sucks because all the travel gents are gone too and we get some irate callers calling in frantically trying to change their tickets, who don�t understand that you can�t help them at all. It also makes me feel bad that I can�t help them.

Oh well...time to get back to work.

I promise I�ll write everything I promised to write yesterday tomorrow. (Isn�t that a great sentence?)

"I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the

decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming."

__Goethe

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!