Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Dec. 16, 2004 - 2:34 p.m.

Finally, the movie I've been waiting all year to see is in theaters now! (well at 12:03 tomorrow morning) Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events. Though I'm kind of saddened that when I tell people how wonderful the books are they will only know about the movie, and if the movie sucks then well, it will be hard to convince them to read the kick'n books. READ THE BOOKS!!!!

Which brings me to another thing I've been thinking about lately. What is too scary for kids? These books can be depressing, but they have a sort of gothic humor about them. Maybe I'm just an emotionless fool (could be), but these stories seem more heroic than some of those disney fairy tale stories. I don't know if heroic is the right word, but what I'm trying to say is that these kids, no matter what they have to get through, no matter how horrible Count Olaf is, no matter what evil situation they are in they try to get through it the best they can. And in later books when they have the opportunity to return some of the evil that has been done to them they choose not to. And that always takes a lot of courage.

And I totally love the way Lemony Snicket writes.

Today is the Tune Inn christmas party which I'm going to (I'm sneaking out of work - sssshhhh!)and I may or may not get Alicia drunk enough to convince her to go see the 12:03am showing in Georgetown. (Drunk isn't really the question, its how drunk. Drunk enough to accept my hairbrained plan, not too drunk to fall asleep by then, not too drunk to scare the kiddies) Hopefully there won't be too many kiddies to scare at 12. Though if they are going to see Lemony Snicket at 12 then I doubt if anything could really scare them.

I just hope Jim Carey is more like Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and less like Ace Ventura, Pet Detective: Call of the Wild. (which I admidt I've never seen, but I did read the book.)

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!