Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jun. 01, 2005 - 5:03 p.m.

Today has not been a good day.

As I was walking to work minding my business looking at the clouds, the leaves, the other people walking, to the right of me an SUV ran over a homeless woman. I heard the screeching of the tires and the woman behind me, but by the time I turned an looked everything was done. People were running to help the woman, others were just standing there staring. I was stunned. My first thought was �Crap! What can I do?� actually it was more of �Holy fucking shit!!!!� but after that I tried to figure out what I could do to help. I forgot all my first aid training years ago. All I could do was stare or call 911. There were 5 people already dialing on their cellphones before I even got that far. I figured I wouldn�t be any help to the cops either since I didn�t see anything. So after making sure I couldn�t possibly do anything else other than stare and gape, so I continued on my way. I don�t like to rubber neck, and I wouldn�t be helping anything anyways. Maybe it was my guilt at not being very useful and walking away when someone was in need, but it felt like all the people I passed looked at me like I was the most heartless person who ever walked the face of the earth.

Was I wrong? Was there something I could�ve done other than utter a prayer that she would be ok and that the driver of the SUV would be more careful? (I�m pretty sure the victim was close to the crosswalk, and the SUV didn�t turn a corner. In fact the SUV had been going straight for awhile because there were no turns onto that road for at least two blocks.

I felt like shit and this day hasn�t helped relieve that feeling�

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!