Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Aug. 23, 2005 - 3:59 p.m.

So, I guess by being tagged by Super Beth B! I have to put down the top 5 songs I'm digging right now, so here they are:

1) My Old Man's a Dustman by Lonnie Dunegan - This is that song that we used to dance to as children. A few weeks ago the Lovely Miss Alicia found it for me and I threw on cd and played it for my youngest older sister and found the story behind it. My four oldest siblings were playing in the woods in Franklin (an even smaller town than what I grew up in if you can imagine) and found a cache of 45's and that was one of them. So it has become a family tradition to dance around to this song that came into our lives quite by chance. Oh, and they didn't know the words either. And thought that a Dustman was a chimney sweep that lived in a 'Castle Flat'. It was really fun to play it for my nieces and nephews and sing Patty the actual words. Though part of the fun was not knowing what the heck the song was about.

2) Green Hornet Theme as played by Al Hirt. I listen to this jazzed up crazy ass rendition of Flight of the Bumble Bee and think, my mom used to be able to play this! And again I amazed by my mom. Then I think of the hours of trumpet practice that I flubbed my way through and I get mad at myself for not actually learning to read the music and become an actual player.

3) Young Ned of the Hill by the Pogues. Everytime I hear this song I don�t know whether to dance or to fight. Curse you Oliver Cromwell and may you rot in hell forever.

4) Red is the Rose as sung by Tommy Makem and the Clancy Brothers. This was my favorite �Irish� song to sing while at college and I find myself singing it very often. And after years of searching FINALLY found the Clancy Brother recording of it (I really love the Limewire!). And I�ve been searching for it since �94 when I first heard it. Its one of those really sad love songs that has some sort of story behind it that some day I will write.

5) Now this one is going to be a problem. I told my boss that my favorite song was Bang Bang by Nancy Sinatra (off of the Kill Bill soundtrack) because at that moment that he asked me I was obsessing over that song and hadn�t downloaded it yet. However I downloaded it and Goodnight Moon by Shivaree (from the same album) at the same time and now that one is my favorite too. For the mere reason of how she says �I�m just a little baby�. They are tied because I listen to them right after each other constantly and they both beg for back stories.

Though I do have to say that I love the song �Coin Operated Boy� by the Dresden Dolls because I love the carnival sound of it. It brings back memories of Coney Island Arcade games that I do not have. But I don�t sing the song that much, but everytime I go to Philly I make my friend Anne play it �cause she�s got a recording of it.

Oh, damn this is just leading me to more songs that I love. Its sooo damn hard to pick just five-er, um, seven�

Damn�

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!