Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Feb. 09, 2007 - 5:46 p.m.

So last night I actually did a socialable thing by myself! I went to a book reading/signing by Christopher Moore (he of Lamb and Blood Sucking Fiends fame). He was really funny and spent the first ten minutes explaining why he wasn't wearing his typical hawaiian shirt, which involved moving to San Francisco and getting shaved in places that make rayan shirts itchie. Funny!
I didn't really meet anyone. The guy I was talking to was nice but then his girlfriend came over and took over his attention by whining and cooing and mentioning their anniversary making everyone else in line open up their books and start reading right away. She gave me the meanest look too. I was just talking to him because he was behind me and the people in front of me were very clickie. And she was pretty, so she really had no reason to think I was a threat or anything. I hate possesive women.

I did have a funny conversation with Christopher Moore when I finally got up there though (only 20 minutes wait!!!):

CM: To whom should I dedicate this to?
(those weren't his real words, I was nervous and now I can't what he actually said first)
Me: ...um...Colleen...
CM: You sure?
Me: Yeah...
CM: Is that your name?
Me: Yeah (blushing)
CM: (laughing) you sure? You seem uncertain.
Me: It's me, but I'm only thirty, don't know if I like it or not yet.
CM: (laughing harder cute guy next to him laughing a little too!) And you haven't had time to anything really horrendous to have to change it yet?
Me: Not yet. Sadly. Working on it though.
(we all are laughing now, we say some more funny things which I can't remember - he finishes signing and I run away - all my wit exhausted for the night)

So yeah I got my book signed. I got Lamb signed for roomie and I got a book plate signed for the turkish delight even though he hasn't emailed me since January. I still don't have to give it to him. (his name isn't on it)

Oh and the boy temp was really boring and not really anything to look at either. bummer. That should be a requirement here. There are just too many girls I work with...

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!