Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jun. 09, 2004 - 2:57 p.m.

Today during lunch I was watching the news coverage about Ronald Reagan�s funeral. As they were transferring the casket to the airplane to bring him to DC, one of my fellow co-workers here at the AFT walked in, stopped and flipped the casket off. With both hands.

Now, I know you may not agree with his politics, but he�s dead. He was someone�s loving husband, father, brother, son, grandfather, godfather, friend.

Granted this woman was old enough to remember him better, but I don�t think she was old enough to actually vote for him. At least not at his first election.

I was in grade school during his presidency. I remember writing a get well card to him with my brothers when he was shot. My parents didn�t vote for him, probably didn�t even agree with him on anything, but they still mourned when he was shot. And are probably mourning him now. Now that I�m older and have more opinions, I don�t agree with everything the man did. But I�m sure he tried his best. I�m sure he thought he was doing what was right and good for the country.

Every president, every king, every person for that matter, has done something you don�t agree with. Abraham Lincoln did some horrendous things. Queen Elizabeth did some horrendous things. I have done horrendous things. And this will not change. But you should show respect for the dead. You don�t flip off a coffin, just like you don�t spit on the flag, and you don�t push little old ladies.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!