Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jan. 12, 2005 - 2:58 p.m.

Well here I am sitting back at the front desk sadly without my Tom Waits cd. I�m going to try and get my launch player working instead.

Do you want to hear something truly funny? Yes? Ok, how�s this? Bush wants DC to pay for all the extra security that is going on due to the inaugural. This includes closing down blocks upon blocks of DC (not to mention my street) for the parade and swearing in itself and whenever Bush decides to go to an inaugural event which there are more of this year, but also they are closing everything down on the 19th! But the truly funny part is that they are blaming all this extra security on Sept. 11 while they are taking the money from DC�s Homeland Security fund. God, sometimes I really hate this country.

Oh, and another funny thing is that security personnel have already begun asking people on the street if they lived in DC. (that was mentioned by Rep. Norton in some newspaper article today) and I must say that I still haven�t switched to a DC license, so I have no proof of address on my current person. I don�t think my Comic Book Legal Defense Fund membership card would hold up in a court of law. (Now that I think about it I�m not even sure that has my current address on it). Though if I am stopped do you think they would send me home? If so then I welcome the free trip. I�ve been wanting to go home.

Woo hoo! After many shut downs and reloadings my launch player is now playing!!!

It would also be funny if we did end up in a fascist state after all this speculation and predicting the democrats have been doing.


I hope you realize that I am being highly sarcastic.

I�m also a little scared by some articles that have popped up in The Guardian and The Scotsman regarding an employee of Waterstones who was sacked because he complained about his job occasionally on his blog (http://www.woolamaloo.org.uk/2005/01/those-who-profess-to-favor-freedom-and.htm). I read some of his entries that Waterstones took defense to and I must say that I have been much worse in my entries about the various places that I have worked than he was. But then I was just a temp at those places. Waterstones is a chain of bookstores much like Borders over here who has made many campaigns urging the freedom of speech, which is kind of ironic in light of the sacking, as he posted these entries on his own time, on his own computer, using his own money and never actually mentioning which Waterstones he actually worked at. He has also been an employee there for 11 years during which he promoted Waterstones on various radio programs and also by getting many authors for book signings and things. It also wasn�t like he was singleing people out and complaining about them using actual name or things like that. He was just complaining about his occasional bad day at work and minor complaints of his boss making him work on his birthday and not giving him his promised days off. (Which is extremely minor in my opinion) Anyways this is turning into a whole freedom of speech thing over the pond and I hope he either gets his job back or an even better one. Actually I hope that he gets an even better job, I mean he only makes 12,000 pounds a year � roughly $24,000 a year over here, he deserves better. His blog is pretty funny.

Anyways, have a good night and stay away from roadblocks if you live in DC.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!