Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Apr. 26, 2005 - 5:27 p.m.

I had fun this weekend. I was a little apprehensive at first because I was going to hang out with My roommate's friend from Chicago and I didn't know if we would get along well or not. But we did! She arrived Friday night much to my chagrin because Alicia wasn't there. (she was at the tune inn of course, which makes me ask the question; if you have a friend you haven't seen in 2 years coming to stay do you come home and wait for them, or do you go out to the bar and come home whenever you feel like it leaving your roommate to be the welcoming party, even though it ends up that you have to work all weekend and will only get to see that friend for a little bit Saturday night and Sunday night, and possibly a little bit Monday morning?)
So we stayed up and talked for awhile til Alicia came home and then we stayed up some more telling stories about retarding the roof and cooked turkeys talking out of their asses and such. Then Saturday Greta and I attempted to go to the Spy Museum but it was sold out until the 4pm time slot so we bought tickets for Sunday and since it was such a nice day we decided to stroll over to the sculpture garden. I love how small this city is! I showed her the lichtenstien house which we ooed and ahhed over and then some other sculptures which we made fun of. Then we went on the Carousal. I didn't get the dragon horse, sadly, but we had a great time. It last two songs! We laughed and laughed at being the only adults enjoying the ride. If you are having a blue day or a bad day, get on a carousal because it will remind you of your happy childhood days, even if you didn't have any happy childhood days. I did though, so I didn't have to worry. Though the evil operator guy almost didn't let us on because we didn't have any kids. But we couldn't be foiled! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Then we went to the other sculpture garden and then back to the original sculpture garden where we drank white wine and sat by the fountain feeling very jet-set and watching the people walk by or play in the fountain.

There is something about fountains that draw people in. Everyone gravitated to the fountain to take pictures of or in front of. To play in. To watch the ducks swim around in. Even the punk and disaffected youth were drawn to the secret silent power of the fountain.

When I rule the world I'm going to make more fountains.

Then we met up with Greta's friends Anthony and Ben and went to eat and to the theater right when it started to rain. Perfect timing! Oh we had so much fun at the restaurant yapping and telling funny stories. And drinking sweet sweet sangria. Then saw the Tempest at Shakespeare. Interesting that. We got to sit up in the booth balcony high above the rest of the theater. The first storm was kick ass. and the set was pretty cool. A lot of flying spirits and african singing which different for shakespeare and some pretty cool uses of the space. But I can't say I really like the tempest as a play in and of its self. I think I'm more of a tragedy everyone dies in the end sort of shakespeare watcher. The others just seem weird to me.

Well got to go will write about the spy museum, the east bloc hot dog, the Leninade and the cool gift shop later.

pax

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!