Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jan. 17, 2006 - 5:02 p.m.

as i sit here thinking what a total waste I was this weekend I recall Saturday. Alicia and I went to the mall to see what we can find in Nordstroms because they were having a special gift card holders day thingie. And I needed a little black purse. Nordstroms was disappointing. Even with the #12 and chocolate coke from johnny rockets filling my belly with happy goodness. Nordic Storm is soo trying to be harrods and falling very far from the mark. very. so then we wandered around the mall for awhile. Then went to high tea at the Ritz. We got to sit by the fireplace on a nice comfy couch and we ordered champagne. I felt really weird wearing jeans in there, but o well! It was sooo good. Then we went shopping some more. I got a lovely gold-ish dress and a cute beaded bag. And oh, yeah, a black pursie. Then we capped off the day by going to best buy and buying Transporter 2 and getting happy meals. The toys ended up being pog shooters (are pogs still popular?) so of course we went very quickly from our jet setting - cool asss - elitist air to the 12 year olds that we really are and practiced our aim. Then we finally went home and watched Saturday Night Live. and I'm pretty sure some other things as well.

Did I mention that I went to Butterfield 9 with Super Beth B? That place was sooo tasty! I had this Blue Marlin on top of some yams and it tasted better than i can describe.

a-yumma-yumma!

Monday I spent trying to avoid million dollar baby on tv and reading The Stupidist Angel. That book was seriously funny. One of the best christmas books ever perhaps. Though not as good as Christopher moore's other book; Lamb:The Bible According to Biff, Jesus' childhood friend. I also started reading about the further adventures of the Pirates by Gideon Defoe. Which reminds me of this poem by Dorothy Parker:
Song of Perfect Propriety


Oh, I should like to ride the seas,
A roaring buccaneer;
A cutlass banging at my knees,
A dirk behind my ear.
And when my captives' chains would clank
I'd howl with glee and drink,
And then fling out the quivering plank
And watch the beggars sink.

I'd like to straddle gory decks,
And dig in laden sands,
And know the feel of throbbing necks
Between my knotted hands.
Oh, I should like to strut and curse
Among my blackguard crew....
But I am writing little verse,
As little ladies do.

Oh, I should like to dance and laugh
And pose and preen and sway,
And rip the hearts of men in half,
And toss the bits away.
I'd like to view the reeling years
Through unastonished eyes,
And dip my finger-tips in tears,
And give my smiles for sighs.

I'd stroll beyond the ancient bounds,
And tap at fastened gates,
And hear the prettiest of sound-
The clink of shattered fates.
My slaves I'd like to bind with thongs
That cut and burn and chill....
But I am writing little songs,
As little ladies will.

Dorothy Parker

hope you enjoyed that last bit!

c-ya beeeccchhhheeesssssssss!

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!