Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May. 16, 2006 - 5:17 p.m.

I'm gonna say it: Tom Wolfe sucks.

He's a passe-stereotyping-scientist wannabe-finger on the pulse of society posing good ol' boy, who makes broad statements that are either ludacris or so been there done that that he is just a whispy caricature of an image of what other people think of him.
(he he that was fun!) His lecture for the National Endowment for the Humanities Jefferson Lecture titled 'the human beast' was full of overused and outdated stereotypes and scientific 'discoveries' to prove that humans are little better than animals whose main purpose in life is either to gain status or maintain their status. Man as beast? Please, like we haven't heard that a million times...Fuck, even disney makes the point!!! His lecture was overlong, over cliched and extremely over boring. I have never read any of his books, but if he writes any where near to how he talks I am never going to read any of his books. The only thing that kept my attention through out the (fuck'n hour and a half)speech was the sign-language guy. Seriously, that guy was hilarious and I learned some new sign language!

Though I must admit that his lecture did give me somethings to think about:
1)If I could possibly go to the bathroom and hide til the speech concluded.
2)Who would've been a better lecturer? Tim Russert?
3)How could one person talk for an hour and a half and NOT take a drink?
4)Did he know, when writing his speech, that he would be talking to adults and not to teenagers?

(obvisouly not)

Though the lecture was free and I did get to eat at the Willard afterwards...and I did get to hang out with super beth b and meet Joel and Diane (cutest couple ever!)...it still sucked.

Sorry Tom Wolfe. You are not enjoyable even with free meal, wine and cool company.

I would watch the sign language guy anytime though!

On a lighter note, my parents came down, we peirced Evie's ears and got yelled at and then took Evie's earrings back out again. Lovely. It was a nice visit despite that though.

Dad can be a real pisser sometimes.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!